Your position:Home > Media reports > Artistic Statement from the Director
Artistic Statement from the Director

During the making of my previous short film Peekaboo, I had already built up close relationships with many families that had lost babies, so I had their trust from the beginning of this documentary and was able to gain remarkable access to their personal lives. I had become passionate about telling these parents' stories over the past six years, as I had discovered how much of a taboo talking about stillbirth is and how this impedes the healing of the families involved. I had met courageous, humorous and generous people and desperately wanted to share their stories with others.

The challenge I faced was to engage audiences to watch a film about such a difficult subject matter and for this film to have further reach than those that have lost a baby themselves. In order to tackle this, I chose stories that offer hope, love, resilience and courage. Ultimately it’s a human story uncovering the incredible ability to triumph over adversity. The participants are very candid about their feelings, and although heartbreaking in places, we use humor to offer relief and create light and shade throughout the film.

We focus mainly on three families’ distinct and unique stories, supported by other families to punctuate and enhance the three main narratives. These are cleverly woven together into one story arc, telling a common story with different voices. This helps to illustrate the frequency of baby loss and how it affects so many more people than just the parents, including siblings, extended family and friends.

We look closely at the role of the fathers. Dads often feel marginalized when a baby dies, most of the focus being on the mother. In Still Loved the dads express their feelings about losing their baby and about the way our culture and society expects men to handle this, not really giving them a place or time to grieve. We are passionate about giving the fathers a voice in this film and they relish the opportunity to speak candidly about how they really feel adding an unexpected twist to the story.

Each of our storylines conclude with optimism and hope, finding resolutions to their grief in their own unique and varied ways, showing how although they will never forget their children, it is possible to move forward and find happiness again. This is not a film about death. It’s about life and the strength of the human spirit to continue.

Partners | About Us | iDOCS Team | Venues | Contact Us | Support Us

您的位置:首页 > 媒体报道 > 《依然·爱》并不是关于死亡的电影
《依然·爱》并不是关于死亡的电影

在我个人的上一部短片作品《捉迷藏》(Peekaboo)的拍摄过程中,我已经和一些丧子家庭建立了紧密的联系。可以说,在这部纪录片开机之前,我就赢得了他们的信任,由此能够走进他们的私人生活。在过去的六年间,我一直希望能够讲述这些父母的故事。因为,我发现探讨这些家庭中年幼孩子的夭折以及难以愈合的创伤是一个太大的禁忌。幸运的是,我遇到了片中这些勇敢、风趣、大度的家庭成员,他们都非常愿意和观众们分享他们的故事。

但是,我所面临的挑战是鼓励观众去观看一部题材如此沉重的电影,并能比丧子家庭的故事本身更有影响力。因此,我选择讲述能够传递希望、大爱、抗争与勇气的故事。这部影片最终呈现的是人性的光辉,以及主人公们战胜苦难的历程。片中的主人公们真诚的吐露心声,同时也会在回忆往事时痛哭失声。这时,我们会用幽默宽慰观众,使影片的情绪起承转合、自然过渡。

因此,我们主要聚焦了三个家庭,以及他们独一无二的故事。此外,还有四个家庭的声音来为主题家庭的故事进行补充和加强。所有的故事都被同一条剧情线精心的交织在一起,虽然不同的家庭发出了不同的声音,但是他们都在讲述同一个故事,而这更解释了丧子的高发率。这样的悲剧不仅影响了孩子的父母,更影响了家中的兄弟姐妹们、其他成员们,以及所有的亲朋好友。

同时,我们也刻画了丧子家庭中父亲的角色。通常在悲剧发生后,母亲变成了家庭的中心,而父亲则会被边缘化。在《依然·爱》(Still Loved)中,父亲们讲述着失去孩子后的心路历程,也从文化角度谈起了社会对男性在丧子家庭中角色的预期——通常父亲们都被剥夺了悲伤的权利和时间。我们对于父亲们在影片中的发声都很激动,而他们的真情流露也为影片增添了出人意料的转折。

我们所拍摄的每一段故事都是以乐观和希望结束的,在这一过程中,主人公们会用他们各具特点的尝试为自己的悲伤找到出口。尽管他们永远也不会忘记自己逝去的孩子,但是他们向观众们传递了继续向前、重拾快乐的可能。《依然·爱》(Still Loved)并不是一部关于死亡的电影,而是一幅描绘着生命、勇气、人性和向前的画卷。翻译:张斯然

合作伙伴 关于我们 iDOCS团队 场地交通 联系我们 支持我们 京ICP备05059899号 京公网安备110102005444-2

安徽泡沫混凝土